October 08, 2002 - 11:59 a.m.

Eddie's Midget Barber Shop

 

New Cure for Depression?

I wanted to spread the word about what is helping me get over my depression. Recently, on Good Morning America, they talked about a new study that involved people diagnosed with bipolar disorder and adding Omega 3 Fatty Acids to their diets. I tried this and it works! I hate eating fish, so I bought the supplement in pill form. I am slowly ramping up to 9600 mg as suggested by the study. I am currently at 2400 mg a day. Under doctor's supervision, I have come completely off of all of my anti-depressants and anti-consultants. I have also stopped self medicating with drugs and alcohol. 

The worst part was detoxing from the meds. It has taken me three weeks to feel physically better. My immune system was weakened and I caught the stomach flu for several weeks. I was also very nervous and edgy and would get panic attacks. These are subsiding. I am much more clear headed and happy. There are still rough days and moments, but my friends can't believe the changes in me. The worst part regarding the supplements is that sometimes I burp up a fishy taste when I change my dosage, but I quickly adjust to it. That is nothing to deal with compared to the suicidal days will keep you posted on my recovery.

If you want to read more about this research, go to: http://www.gsdl.com/assessments/finddisease/depression/fatty_acids.html

http://www.pronova.com/hits/osl02793.nsf/AllById/ED8117779158F69841256AE7002DE094?OpenDocument

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

newestolder