April 15, 2002 - 12:00 p.m.

Help Me!

 

ECT - AAAAGH!

Not long after writing about Electroshock therapy and I would NEVER ever do it. Now, I'm considering it. Am I THAT crazy? Last week, my psychiatrist gave up on me. Basically, she said that because I'm not responding to any medications, she is at a loss as to what to do for me. She told me to get a second opinion on meds and ECT and then let her know.

How can any doctor just give up on you? Oh, sure, that's uplifting for a severe depressive?  2 psychiatrists ago, that one gave up on me too. I think they stopped carrying our insurance and just ignored me. I eventually sent him a letter condemning how a doctor could do that to a depressed person. (You guessed it - no response.)

I have made an appointment with another Psych. This will be my 4th one in one year and my 6th in my entire life. My therapist talks about hope, and finding the right doc. How many times can I go through this? Is ECT my only hope?

Anyone who has any insight on meds, ect, depression, etc. - please write me. I could use some help from someone who has gone through the same thing.

Thanks.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

newestolder