2001-11-26 - 9:33 p.m.

When I was little - maybe 7 or 8 - I remember going to my Doctor's house to go swimming. That may sound odd, but Dr. Kramer became very close to my brother and me because we were constantly sick with asthma. And, we would go every week for our allergy shots. Our family became very close with the Kramers (until later when my Dad designed a new part for a breathing machine for the doctor and my father claimed that Dr. Kramer stole it, patented it and made money on it without compensating him).

One day, the elderly Kramers invited us over to their house (which was connected to the doctor's office) to go swimming. We were having a fabulous time. Mrs. Kramer gave us home made cookies. I tasted the sugar cookie and was transformed. This was the best sugar cookie in the world! First off, it was big, not puny. It wasn't too sweet - it was just sweet enough. Sugar granules covered the top of it. It wasn't hard. The cookie was pliable in my hands. I don't remember if I ate another one because I got stung by a bee and the party was over.

Since then, I have been looking for that sugar cookie. I can't make it. I've tried store brands and home made cookies. Even Otis Sputmaker isn't close. This sugar cookie is just like cocaine. The first time is ecstasy. Then, you are chasing it - that taste - that sensation.

If Mrs. or Mr. Kramer were alive today I would demand that recipe!

I'm afraid that I will be on an eternal search for that perfect sugar cookie.

P.S. If you have a good recipe, send it to me!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

newestolder